Homepage Homepage


Croatian Parliament

Trg sv. Marka 6

10 000 Zagreb

Phone.: +385 1 45 69 222,
e-mail: mediji@sabor.hr

27. 4. 2015.
70th anniversary of breakout from Jasenovac camp commemorated

Croatian Parliament Speaker Josip Leko (Photo FaH)Jasenovac - Surviving former inmates, top Croatian officials, foreign ambassadors in Croatia, and many other delegations on Sunday attended a ceremony commemorating the 70th anniversary of the break-out of inmates from the Ustasha-run Jasenovac camp on 22 April 1945, paying tribute to 83,000 victims of this WW2 camp.

The event was attended by top state officials, Croatian Parliament Speaker Josip Leko, Prime Minister Zoran Milanovic who is expected to give a talk, First Deputy Prime Minister Vesna Pusic as well as ministers Berislav Sipus, Orsat Miljenic and Tihomir Jakovina. Also present were a delegation of the City of Zagreb, led by mayor Milan Bandic, representatives of the diplomatic corps, church communities, national minorities, anti-fascist associations, as well as guests from Croatia and abroad.  President Kolinda Grabar-Kitarovic visited Jasenovac on April 22.

Parliament Speaker Josip Leko said that the atrocities of the Ustasha death camp serve as a warning even 70 years later, because fascism ideas were not entirely rooted out.

- Jasenovac atrocities are warning and calling on all of us never again to allow discrimination and persecutions based on national, religious, ideological or gender differences, Leko said.

Of the 1,073 inmates who were in the camp on 22 April 1945, 600 attempted to escape and only about a hundred survived. The remaining 473 inmates who did not try to escape were killed and their bodies were cremated. The camp Jasenovac was the largest forced-labor and concentration camp set up by the Nazi-style Independent State of Croatia (NDH) in marshland at the confluence of the Sava and Una rivers near the village of Jasenovac in the second half of 1941 and operated until the breakout in 1945.

On the same day, inmates in the nearby camp "Kozara" also launched a breakout, and of 167, only 11 inmates survived. (Hina)

24. 4. 2015.
Parliament adopts two agriculture-related laws
Zagreb - The Croatian parliament passed two agriculture-related laws on Friday - the Farmland Consolidation Act and the Croatian Chamber of Agriculture Act. The Farmland Consolidation Act will enable expansion of farms and plots of farmland, putting road and canal networks in order, irrigation and the regulation of ownership relations.
21. 4. 2015.
Croatian Parliament Speaker urges more dialogue between EU, parliaments
Rome - The Croatian Parliament positively assesses the European Commission's policy on strengthening dialogue with national parliaments, however, it believes that that dialogue should not be reduced to mere reporting but should serve as a platform for consultations on the making of European policies, Parliament Speaker Josip Leko said at an annual conference of speakers of EU parliaments in Rome on Tuesday.
15. 4. 2015.
Croatian Parliament Speaker meets Romanian Chamber of Deputies President
Zagreb - Romania is a strong partner to Croatia, President of the Chamber of Deputies of Romania Valeriu Stefan Zgonea said on Wednesday after talks with Croatian Parliament Speaker Josip Leko, at which the two officials said that their common goal was to help southeast and east European countries on the road to the EU and NATO.
14. 4. 2015.
It's useful to include citizens in town budget planning, hears round table
Zagreb - Strengthening the trust of citizens in state institutions, fighting lethargy and attracting investments are just some of the benefits of involving citizens when preparing the budget, heard a round table discussion organised on Tuesday in parliament by the parliamentary finance and local government committee and the GONG civil society organisation.
Distribution of mandates in the Croatian Parliament in March 2015

Croatian Parliament is composed of 151 active mandates, 26 are terminated and 31 in the state of the suspension of the term of office.

There are 138 Members of Parliament with a term of office within 16 parliamentary parties and 13 independent Members of Parliament. Mandates are distributed as follows:

Social Democratic Party of Croatia (56), Croatian Democratic Union (41), Croatian People’s Party – Liberal Democrats (11), Croatian Democratic Alliance of Slavonia and Baranja (7), Croatian Labourists – Labour Party (3), Croatian Party of Pensioners (4), Independent Democratic Serbian Party (3), Istrian Democratic Assembly (2), Croatian Civic Party (2), People's Party - Reformists (3), Bosnian Democratic Party of Croatia (1), Croatian Peasant Party (1), Croatian Party of Rights dr. Ante Starčević (1), Democratic Center (1), Croatian Sustainable Development (OraH, 1) and New Wave - Development Party (1).

Among the Independent MPs, seven of them are members of MP clubs: Josip Kregar in SDP (Social Democratic Party of Croatia), Veljko Kajtazi in HNS (Croatian People’s Party – Liberal Democrats), Furio Radin in Deputy Club of Istrian Democratic Assembly and Independent MP Furio Radin, Jadranka Kosor in Deputy Club of Independent MP Jadranka Kosor and HGS (Croatian Civic Party) and Slavko Linić, Branko Vukšić and Nikola Vuljanić in Deputy Club of Independent Left.

Among 151 Members of Parliament 8 are representatives of national minorities.

Session Hall.jpg
Pursuant to articles 216 and 224 of the Croatian Parliament’s Standing Orders, Speaker of Parliament Josip Leko convoked the Parliament for the 17th session scheduled to take place on 15, 16, 17, 22, 23, 24, 29 and 30 April 2015.
Info Flyer
The Croatian Parliament
About Croatia
The most important information about the country - its geography, history, political organisation, population, economy, culture and society
Croatian Parliament 2015 Legal notice
Powered by iSite