Homepage Homepage


Croatian Parliament

Trg sv. Marka 6

10 000 Zagreb

Phone.: +385 1 45 69 222,
e-mail: mediji@sabor.hr

4. 12. 2018.
Croatian Parliament Speaker meets with Albanian PM Edi Rama

Edi Rama with his Croatian counterpart Gordan JandrokovićZagreb - Croatia strongly supports Albania's reform efforts on its journey toward the European Union and is prepared to provide technical assistance in that, Parliament Speaker Gordan Jandroković said on Tuesday during a meeting with Albania's Prime Minister Edi Rama, who was in Zagreb attending a summit of the Central European Initiative.

The two officials assessed bilateral relations as traditionally friendly and very good, without any outstanding issues. Croatia is prepared to offer political support to Albania on its path to the EU as well as providing expert and technical assistance, Jandroković said. Based on its experiences in the accession process, the Croatian parliament is open to pass on its experiences and expertise at the parliamentary and administrative levels, he added.

Jandroković invited his Albanian counterpart to visit Croatia for the purpose of additionally strengthening parliamentary cooperation. he two officials also talked about advancing economic cooperation and said that good transport connections was one of the important prerequisites for good cooperation.

It was said that the Albanian minority in Croatia is an additional link in relations between the two countries and Jandroković was grateful for their contribution during the Homeland War.

Jandroković and Rama also exchanged their thoughts on the situation in southeast Europe. (Hina)

4. 12. 2018.
Croatian Parliament Speaker receives PMs who arrive in Zagreb for CEI summit
Zagreb - Croatian Parliament Speaker Gordan Jandroković on Monday held separate meetings with the visiting prime ministers, Viktor Orban of Hungary, Zoran Zaev of Macedonia and Vasilica Viorica Dancila of Romania, who arrived in Zagreb for a two-day summit meeting of the Central European Initiative (CEI) in Zagreb.
3. 12. 2018.
Parliament adopts 2019 state budget
Zagreb - The Croatian Parliament on Monday adopted the 2019 state budget and projections for 2020 and 2021, with revenues in 2019 totalling over HRK 136 billion and expenditures over HRK 140 billion. The budget was adopted with 79 votes in favour, 45 against and one abstention.
3. 12. 2018.
Parliament reappoints State Auditor Ivan Klešić
Zagreb - The Croatian parliament on Monday unanimously reappointed current State Auditor Ivan Klešić for another, eight-year term. Klešić was the only candidate for the post. His current term expires on December 10.
2. 12. 2018.
Paliament Speaker wishes happy Hanukkah to Jewish believers
Zagreb - Croatian Parliament Speaker Gordan Jandroković on Sunday extended his best wishes to the Jewish faithful on the occasion of Hanukkah, also known as the Festival of Lights.
Croatia's Path to the EU

Croatia’s EU accession process began by the end of the 90’s. In 1997 the Council of the EU laid down the political and economic preconditions for developing bilateral relations with Croatia and in 1999, at the proposal of the European Commission, the Stabilization and Association Process for the countries of Southeast Europe, Croatia included, was adopted. In 2000 high level representatives of the EU and the countries included in the Stabilization and Association Process gathered for the Zagreb Summit, where the negotiations for the Stabilization and Association Agreement (SAA) were opened.

By signing the SAA in Luxembourg on 29 October 2001, Croatia entered contractual relations with the Union for the first time. The country became a potential candidate and started comprehensive preparations for the membership of the European Union. Upon its ratification in the Croatian Parliament, the European Parliament and in all EU Member-States’ national parliaments, the SAA entered into force on 1 February 2005.

Croatia applied for EU membership on 21 February 2003 and, after getting the European Commission’s positive opinion in April 2004, it was granted the status of candidate country in June 2004. This opened the way for starting accession negotiations, officially launched on 3 October 2005, when the first Intergovernmental Conference between the EU Member States and Croatia was held. The basis of negotiations were Croatia and the EU’s negotiating positions, individually elaborated for each chapter based on the results of analytical overviews.

Croatia closed the negotiations on 30 June 2011. Their results now make an integral part of the Treaty of Accession, signed by Croatia on 9 December 2011 in Brussels. The provisions of the Treaty stipulate that it will enter into force on 1 July 2013 subject to it being ratified by Croatia and all the EU Member States in conformity with their constitutional provisions.

On 23 December 2011, the Croatian Parliament adopted the decision on calling a state referendum on the accession of the Republic of Croatia to the European Union. It was decided that the referendum would be held on 22 January 2012.

Before that, on 19 January 2012, the Croatian Parliament adopted the Declaration on the Membership of the Republic of Croatia of the European Union as a Strategic Interest of the Republic of Croatia, by which it called all the citizens of Croatia to come out to cast their vote in the referendum, express their democratic will and thus contribute to the development of Croatia as a state of democratic, pluralistic and open society.

At the referendum held on 22 January 2012 the citizens of Croatia supported Croatia’s membership of the European Union with 66.27% "for" votes. When the Accession Treaty entered into force on 1 July 2013, Croatia became the 28th Member State of the European Union.

Sabor_procelje (2).jpg
Pursuant to articles 216 and 224 of the Croatian Parliament’s Standing Orders, Speaker of Parliament convoked the Parliament for the 10th session scheduled to take place on 14, 15, 16, 19, 20, 21, 27, 28, 29, 30  November and 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 December 2018.
European Affairs
International Affairs
Croatian Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe
PD CEI Croatian Parliament’s Chairmanship in Office
Info Flyer
The Croatian Parliament
About Croatia
The most important information about the country - its geography, history, political organisation, population, economy, culture and society
Croatian Parliament 2018 Legal notice
Powered by iSite