Homepage Homepage


Croatian Parliament

Trg sv. Marka 6

10 000 Zagreb

Phone.: +385 1 45 69 222,
e-mail: mediji@sabor.hr

Frequently asked questions


Is it possible to receive notifications of Sabor's updated news?

Wishing to keep you informed about Sabor's work in a fast and simple manner, we have set up an RSS feed on Sabor’s website – an option for you to subscribe to all of the newly published information in the news section. The subscription process is very simple. At RSS page you will find an overview of the sections with the RSS option as well as usage guidelines.

When is the Croatian Parliament open for public?

Working hours of the Croatian Parliament for public are from 8.30 am to 4.30 pm. Parliament does not open for public on Saturdays, Sundays and national holidays. During the parliamentary sessions there are several running services functioning as well. Summer and winter recess is staff vacation time. At that time there are duty hours.

When is the adjournment of the Croatian Parliament?

Twice a year: first time between 15th January and 15th July, and second time between 15th September and 15th December.
The President of the Republic, President of the Government or the majority of MPs can call an emergency session. The Speaker of the Parliament can, given the prior opinion of the Deputy Clubs, call an emergency session.

How is the Croatian Parliament organized?

The internal constitution of the Croatian Parliament has been regulated by Standing Orders.

Who is the actual Speaker of the Croatian Parliament?

In the 9th term the Speaker is Gordan Jandroković.

What is the role of the Speaker of the Parliament?

The role of the Speaker of the Parliament has been regulated by Standing Orders of the Croatian Parliament; the survey of the roles is available on “Roles of the Speaker of the Parliament”.

Who and when elects the Speaker?

The Speaker is elected among the MPs, and usually from the parliamentary majority. The Speaker is elected at the first plenary session when the majority of MPs is present.

How many MPs are there in the 8th term?

There are 151 MPs. During the Parliament, due to changes in deputy’s structure, there can be some less active deputy mandates temporarily.

What is the duration of the deputy mandate, can it and when be prolonged?

The mandate is four years and it can be prolonged only in the case of war, direct threat to sovereignty, unity and existence of the State, or big natural catastrophes.

What are the working bodies of the Parliament and what do they do?

The working bodies of the Parliament are committees and commissions. There are 30 working bodies functioning in the Croatian Parliament at present. The working bodies of the Parliament discuss and debate motions and initiatives for the enactment of laws and other regulations and other matters within the authority of the Parliament. Besides the working bodies formed according the Standing Orders, Croatian Parliament can form other working bodies as well, giving them the name, structure, working obligations and methods.

Who is entitled to motion a law?

Any MP, Deputy Club or working body of the Croatian Parliament, as well as the Government of the Republic of Croatia, can motion a law.

Can citizens motion a law?

The citizens cannot motion a law, however, they can give an initiative for the law motion by organizing themselves and contacting their local MP.

What is the “Question Time”?

Question Time is an opportunity for MPs to ask government ministers questions. That is at the beginning of each Parliamentary sitting after deciding on the Agenda, and before the first issue of the Agenda.

What is the interpellation and who has the right to submit it?

Interpellation is the formal right of the Parliament to submit formal questions to the Government on their decisions if there are some deviations from the general opinion of the Government or ministries concerning laws and politics regulated before. Interpellation has to be submitted to the Speaker of the Parliament by at least one tenth of MPs.

Can visitors attend the sittings of the Croatian Parliament?

According the decision of the Presidency of the Croatian Parliament, the Visitors' Gallery in the Chamber is reserved for public who wish to follow the debates at parliamentary plenary sessions. Written requests to attend the debates are submitted to the parliamentary Citizens Service at least three days in advance. It is necessary to identify yourself (name, surname, date of birth, name of a parent, date and place of ID card issue).

Does the Parliament sit on holidays and memorial days?

Croatian Parliament does not work on holidays – designated as non-working days by law; the Parliament works regularly on memorial days – not designated as non-working days.
Holidays in the year 2017 – non-working days in the Republic of Croatia – are:

1st January – New Year’s Day
6th January – Epiphany
Easter Sunday (16th April in 2017)
Easter Monday (17th April in 20167
1st May – Labour Day
Corpus Christi (15th June in 2017)
22nd June – Antifascist Day
25th June – Statehood Day
5th August – Victory and National Thanksgiving Day
15th August – Assumption of St. Mary
8th October – Independence Day
1st November – All Saints Day
25th and 26th December – Christmas holidays

Memorial days in Croatia are:

9th January - The Day of Adoption of the Resolution on Seceding Međimurje From Hungary
15th January - The Day of International Recognition of the Republic of Croatia
15th March – National Protection Establishment Day
30th April - Zrinski and Frankopan Execution Day
Saturday or Sunday closest to May 15th, a commemorative day for Croatia’s victims in the struggle for freedom and independence
30th May – Croatian Parliament Day
25th September - The Day of Adoption of the Decision on Uniting Istria, The City of Rijeka, Zadar and the Islands with the Mother Country Croatia
23rd August - The Europe-wide Day of Remembrance for the victims of all totalitarian and authoritarian regimes

Memorial days in Croatia are not designated as non-working days.


Croatian Parliament 2018 Legal notice
Powered by iSite