Sabor Ratifies Croatia’s EU Accession Treaty

Zagreb – In the presence of the Prime Minister Zoran Milanović, members of the government and diplomatic representatives in Croatia, the Croatian Parliament ratified the Treaty of Accession of the Republic of Croatia to the European Union by unanimous vote. This was the only item debated at today’s plenary sitting. 

The conditions for Sabor to ratify the Accession Treaty were fulfilled once the Constitutional Court had established the January referendum had been conducted in conformity with the Constitution and with the Law. 

For Croatia to join the Union on 1 July 2013, which is the set target date for full membership, the Accession Treaty has to be ratified by all the parliaments of the 27 EU member-states. Five countries have so far ratified the Treaty: Slovakia, Hungary, Bulgaria, Italy and Malta.

Croatia signed the Treaty defining the conditions of the accession on 9 December 2011 in Brussels. (Hina)

Autor: Hina