NATO Parliamentary Assembly's 59th Annual Session in Croatia

Dubrovnik - The Croatian Parliament will host the NATO Parliamentary Assembly's 59th Annual Session in Croatia from Friday 11 to Monday 14 October 2013. The Session will bring together some 340 parliamentarians from the 28 NATO member countries from North America and Europe as well as delegates from partner countries and observers to discuss and adopt Assembly reports and recommendations on current transatlantic security matters. An opening Ceremony and first Plenary sitting will take place on Friday 11 October.

The Assembly will be addressed by the President of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly, Hugh Bayley, the President of the Republic of Croatia, Ivo Josipović, the President of the Croatian Parliament, Josip Leko and NATO Secretary General, Anders Fogh Rasmussen.

The Plenary sitting will be followed a Public open-air concert in Dubrovnik’s Old Town and by the Award ceremony for the winners of the NATO Quiz Competition for high school and university students from the four South Croatian counties, organised in collaboration with NATO’s Public Diplomacy Division, RACVIAC-Centre for Security Co-operation (Rakitje, Croatia) and the North Atlantic Integrations Promotion Organisation (Zagreb, Croatia).

Saturday 12 and Sunday 13 October will be devoted to the meetings of the Assembly’s five Committees: Political, Defence and Security, Science and Technology, Civil Dimension of Security and Economics and Security. Each Committee will discuss its draft reports and resolutions and will be addressed by prominent speakers from government, academia, NGO’s or NATO. The Annual Session will conclude on Monday 14 October with additional addresses from senior policy makers and the adoption of the NATO PA policy recommendations for 2013. (