Parliamentary election results now official

Zagreb - The State Election Commission (DIP) on Monday established the official results of the September 11 early parliamentary election and sent them to the Constitutional Court.

Speaking at a DIP session, its president, Branko Hrvatin, said copies of the election results would also be sent to President Kolinda Grabar-Kitarović and the next parliament and government. He said the results would be published in the Official Gazette today and that the first session of the new parliament must be held within 20 days.

Hrvatin said the Constitutional Court, convening today, now had to check the whole election procedure and, if it found that everything was in line with the constitution and the law, adopt a decision to that effect. He recalled that four objections and one complaint had been filed regarding the election but that the Constitutional Court dismissed them.

The Croatian Democratic Union (HDZ) was the relative winner of the snap election, winning 61 seats in the 151-seat legislature. The Social Democratic Party-led People's Coalition won 54 seats, the Bridge party 13, while the Human Shield party won eight, IDS/PGS three, a coalition led by Zagreb Mayor Milan Bandić's party two and the regional HDSSB party one seat. One seat was won by independent MP Željko Glasnović in the constituency for Croats living outside Croatia.

Eight seats are allotted to MPs representing ethnic minorities. Three are allocated to the Serb minority which will be represented by SDSS party members Milorad Pupovac, Mile Horvat and Boris Miletić. Furio Radin was elected representative of the Italian minority and Robert Jankovics of ethnic Hungarians. Ethnic Roma representative Veljko Kajtazi will represent the Roma and 11 other minorities, Vladimir Bilek will represent the Czech and Slovak communities, while Ermina Lekaj Prljaskaj will represent the ethnic Albanian community plus another four minorities (Bosniak, Montenegrin, Slovenian and Macedonian).

Author: Hina